Helpful Writing Books

WE’RE ALWAYS LEARNING; IT’S NEVER TOO LATE

by Shirley Kiger Connolly

If you are like I am, you’re always looking for assistance that will help you include more of your personal passion about your writing. Or maybe you’re looking for more techniques you need to improve your writing. I’ve found there’s nothing like learning from others who’ve been on the curvy writing road a lot longer. That’s why I turn to books on writing for assistance.

My library continues growing with helpful writing book. I read as many as I can. Sometimes, I find myself going through the same book twice. In these books, it often takes me a while to grasp all I’m being taught.

I realize maybe I don’t need to discover the same things you do, but I’ve learned that when new truths finally do sink in or old truths I wasn’t able to grasp before, I’m thrilled beyond pieces.

Why? Every writer’s book, especially if well-written, shows me how much more I need to improve in my craft.

I’ve listed a couple of books here I came across at a conference I returned from recently.  (I was fortunate enough to attend the full day workshop by the gifted author and speaker.) I hope you can get your hands on these or even to the writer’s workshops if you haven’t yet had the opportunity.

The first book help is THE FIRE IN FICTION by Donald Maass. What’s it about?

    • How to keep your story sizzling
    • How to supercharge your words with deep conviction
    • How to make your story compelling not just with your setting but with vivid characters

And so much more, believe me.

The second one is WRITING THE BREAKOUT NOVEL by Donald Maass. What’s it about? The proper elements needed to write a novel. Do you know them all?

    • Improve on your sense of time and place
    • Make your larger-than-life characters more realistic
    • Learn to not only enjoy but also sustain the tension throughout the book.
    • Handle more creative sub-plotting

And so much more!

Do we ever quit learning? I don’t think so.

Shirley Kiger Connolly

http://apenforyourthoughts.blogspot.com/

Flame from Within (available)

I See God in the Simple Things (available)

I See God in the Thorns ~n~ Thistles coming in November

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Helpful Writing Books

  1. Is that workshop you mention every year? I want to learn to be a better writer, and I really want to submit something to Vintage (waiting for the submissions to open back up!). Did you have these books before you were published?

  2. Thanks so much for writing, Mary. That’s great you want to improve on your writing. There’s much to learn about the craft, and there’s always more to learn.
    I think I will be learning forever. I guarantee an editor can see the difference when she/he reviews a manuscript.
    No, I did not see the books by Donald Maass before I published the first time. I wish I had.
    To find out when and where his next workshops are you can go to Donald Maass Literary Agency online to see his schedule. He goes all over throughout the year. Maybe he will be in your area.
    In the meantime, I wish you best with your writing, Mary.
    Shirley

Leave a Reply

