FAQ for New and Aspiring Authors (Part IV)

I’ve heard that if my book is rejected, it’s okay to wait a couple of months and resubmit the same book to the same publisher because editors change all the time. Is that true?

No. High staff turnover is not necessarily true in the publishing industry, and if you resubmit the same rejected book, you run the risk of the same editor receiving it. In spite of what some of us think, editors do remember books they’ve read, and most publishers keep a log of submissions/rejections. If an editor receives a book he/she has previously rejected, it tends to make that editor more wary of future submissions from that author.

I e-mailed a publisher to ask about where I should look for more information on writing synopses, query letters, etc., but I haven’t heard back. Is it acceptable to call them?

No. Most likely, you haven’t heard back because publishers don’t have the time or resources to help you get your book published. You need to do your own research by utilizing the Internet, your local library, or other published friends.

My first book just got accepted. When can I announce the news on my website, etc.?

Usually after the contract has been signed, but check with your publisher first.

Why is the publisher asking me about my marketing/promoting plans? Isn’t that something the publisher does?

 

I know it sounds strange, but promoting your book isn’t just your publisher’s responsibility. The book is yours and so is the job of marketing it. Even the biggest names in the publishing industry participate in promoting their novels, and you’ll be expected to do the same.

 

No one knows your work better than you. Yet, most new authors know little, if anything, about marketing their book so they’re caught off-guard when the acceptance comes. So begin your education about marketing now. Attend conferences and other writing get-togethers to learn from your fellow authors and read about marketing and promoting.

 

I’ve just received the contract for my book, but I don’t understand everything in it. Should I call the publisher to ask for clarification? Should I have an attorney look at the contract?

Contacting the publisher to ask for an explanation of sections you don’t understand is perfectly acceptable; however, if you’re not familiar with the terminology of a contract, it’s always best to have an attorney review the document.

I’ve signed my contract, but now I realize there was one thing I wanted to change. Is it too late?

More than likely. However, you can still ask the publisher for the change. It never hurts to ask, and sometimes, the publisher is willing to make a change after the contract has been signed.

2 responses to “FAQ for New and Aspiring Authors (Part IV)

  1. My human read your excellent post and observed “If a new writer wants to learn a bit about publishing in a shorter period of time and make less boo-boos they’d be well served to attend a reputable writers conference.” The Anhinga Conference came to mind. Trial and error isn’t good and sometimes can have a “hangover.”
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. I agree! Writers’ conferences are a great way to learn! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

