An Interview with children’s author, Jaime McKoy


Interview with Jaime McKoy, author of The Christmas House, Peyton’s Candy Cane Adventure, and Santa’s Lost Putter

1.         When did you begin writing children’s stories?

When I was in the third grade, two classmates and I wrote a rhyming Halloween version of “Twas the Night Before Christmas” that turned out to be a big hit with the teachers and students alike.  My love of rhyme grew from that one story, and through the years I’ve written numerous invitations or cards for special occasions and poems for my husband and children as well as other rhyming children’s stories.

2.          Do you always write in rhyme when writing for children?

Not always.  I once took a course in writing children’s literature, and the stories I wrote during that time were not in rhyme.  I’m more comfortable writing rhyme because it allows me to be more creative, and it can prove quite challenging at times to find words that rhyme with one another without disturbing the flow of the story.

3.         What projects do you have in the works?

I currently have a rhyming story in progress about a lazy moose who’s letting life pass him by because all he wants to do is sleep.  A sassy little goose moves in across the street whose energy and motivation to get things done soon teaches him just what he’s been missing out on.

I also have in the works a series of books based on funny sayings courtesy of my granddaughter.  You know how they say ‘out of the mouths of babes’ and she has certainly given me some wonderful “quotes” to create stories around.

I also have another story about my three-year-old grandson who loves dirt bikes.

My favorite books as a child were the Betsy, Tacy, and Tib books by .  Somewhere down the line I would love to write a series of books reminiscent of the great friendship between these three little girls.

4.         Give us a little bit of information about your background and what got you interested in children’s stories.

Again, my love of writing started with the Halloween story in the third grade.  Whenever I got the chance I would make up rhyming stories for friends and family, sometimes for my own enjoyment.  Writing became a big love of mine throughout school and I even overcame my shyness enough to try out for the writing staff of my high school yearbook.  That led to my conducting interesting interviews for story pieces and at least two of my stories ended up on the front page of the school newspaper.  Once I got married, I started experimenting with writing short stories and romance, but I didn’t get serious about writing until my early 40s when I got my first romance novel published.  I still write romance and would like to one day branch out into mainstream novels, but I think my first love will always be writing children’s books.

5.         What fuels your desire to write books for children?

My two children are grown now, but throughout their childhood I wrote so many of their party invitations, and they, along with their friends, always got a big kick out of the rhyming words.  At some point I started doing rhyming cards for adults and they, too, always got a positive response.

Now that I have a granddaughter, I can start all over with her.  So I guess the two things that fuel my desire to write books for children are my love of children and my love of rhyme.  They just seem to go hand in hand.

6.         Do you think children’s books are only for children?

Children’s books are universal.  They may be written for children, but I know just from reading books to my grandchildren that I can sometimes get caught up in the fun and fantasy of the story right along with her.  Hearing them laugh or watching their beautiful little faces light up with such expression always makes the story that much more enjoyable.

Jaime’s stories are available now from Vinspire Imaginations! http://www.vinspirepublishing.com.

Share

Leave a Reply

