Interview with Highlander romance author, Terry Spear

1.     We’d like to hear a little about you as a person, outside your writing career. Who is Terry Spear, the gal down the street?

When I’m not working as a librarian or writing, I love creating teddy bears, reading, and taking pictures. I’d love to learn how to do professional photography. I think it’s because my dad did a lot of that kind of work and he loved to make up oral stories, too. I guess I’m following in his footsteps!

2.       Your website defines your genre as “urban fantasy and medieval historical romantic suspense.” Brief definition of the definition, please?

Urban fantasy encompasses fantastical worlds in a contemporary time period. I write vampires and werewolves although not in the same world. My medieval romantic suspense are pretty much straight medieval romances, although the heroine in Winning the Highlander’s Heart had a hint of psychic talent.

3.       Vampires and werewolves seem to have the hook on the market right now. Did that influence your choice of genre?

I loved seeing Dracula in a college stage play, and from that moment on, the way he was so suave and mesmerizing as a romantic character, I had fallen in love with the paranormal. I also loved ghost stories. My werewolves were influenced by Jack London’s wolf tales and by the East of the Sun and West of the Moon, my first romantic shapeshifter tale. So it wasn’t really the market, but a love of all things paranormal since I was young.

4.       You are of Scottish and Irish ancestry. Have you visited either of those countries? If so, which would you live in if given a choice?

I traveled to Scotland and loved every inch of it, the cloudy weather, the sunny days, the day shrouded in fog, the seven castles we visited, the fall colors, and flowers in bloom. I loved it. I would love to go to Ireland also. And Wales, too, where my grandfather’s ancestors were probably from before they ended up in Ireland. Since I haven’t been to either of the other regions, I couldn’t say which I’d prefer. Although from the pictures I’ve seen, I’d love them both as well.

5.       What’s your latest release about? Share a blurb if you’d like.

The Accidental Highland Hero.

Lady Eilis Dunbarton’s life undergoes a drastic change with the death of her cousin, Agnes. Now she’s faced with the disagreeable prospect of marrying the man who was to be her cousin’s husband. Not by a change of contract, though. Instead, by deceit—pretending to be her cousin. But if her husband-to-be discovers she’s not really Agnes, her life is forfeit. So what choice does Eilis have but to flee? When Laird James MacNeill’s clan rescues a half-drowned lass from the sea, there is speculation she is of the enemy clan, especially since she doesn’t remember her own name. James is immediately enticed with the lady, but his focus must remain on finding the proper bride. For if he does not wed soon, he must give up his holdings to one of his younger brothers. Focus slips away with each day Eilis is close, and James finds himself contemplating the thought of taking her to wife without knowing her true identity. But how dangerous would the end result be? And what will happen if Eilis’s husband-to-be comes looking for her only to find her in the arms of another man?

6.       How long does it take you to write a book, from the germ of an idea to the final word?

Three months, if I’m lucky. Sometimes I’ve got deadlines on edits for other books and so it takes longer to finish the book.

7.       What can we expect from you next?

A Ghost of a Chance at Love, a time-travel story set in 1870 in Salado, Texas where real ghosts live and the Stagecoach Inn is a real place that was named Shady Villa Inn, just like in the story. I love the area and visit it often when I have a chance. But I also LOVE time travels so just had to write this story. It’ll be coming out in 2011. And then I’ll be writing Dougald MacNeill’s story in a sequel to Winning the Highlander’s Heart and The Accidental Highland Hero.

8.       What would your readers be surprised to know about you?

I rappelled off tall buildings in a single bound…and climbed mountains, traversed water obstacles for water survival training and leadership reaction courses and confidence courses, gas mask training, qualifying with weapons training, orienteering—while I was in the Reserve Officer Training Corps.

9.       You have an interesting sideline hobby/business. Tell us about Wilde and Woolly Bears.

My parents made doll carriages for doll collectors and they were buying dolls to display on them. I was making cloth dolls at the time, and they asked if I could make an old-fashioned teddy bear. I designed some, won awards at shows, even Best-in-Show for one, and Most Unique Teddy Bear for another, Best Dressed twice for others. They appeared in The International Teddy Bear film, and the magazines–Teddy Bear Review, Texas Monthly, Texas Co-op Monthly, and the MacNeill Galley, plus newspapers all over. They found homes as far away as South Africa and Australia! The favorites are baby birth bears and Celtic Clan Bears.

10.     What’s your strangest writing idiosyncrasies?

I don’t think I do anything strangely when it comes to writing. But some readers were surprised to hear I’ll often sit down and write by hand if I get stuck while working on the computer! And I’ve had, on occasion, my daughter or son or mother jot down a scene for me while I was driving! And once, my dad and I were brainstorming ideas at a restaurant and I was furiously writing down notes on a paper napkin. Hmm, maybe I do have some strange writing idiosyncrasies!

Interview questions provided by Delia Latham


Share

One response to “Interview with Highlander romance author, Terry Spear

  1. I’m excited to say that A Ghost of a Chance at Love will be released December 2011. I also have Heart of the Highland Wolf coming in June, 2011, and another werewolf romance, Dreaming of the Wolf, in December, 2011!

Leave a Reply

