‘Twas the Month Before Deadline

‘Twas the month before deadline, when all through my head

No ideas were stirring but feelings of dread.

Pink Post-its were hung on my iPad with care,

In hopes that my article soon would be there.

Stabile20IMG_1734__70591.1329338964.1280.1280

‘Twas the week before deadline. I saw my hopes wane

As visions of wittiness fled from my brain.

“My schedule’s too busy,” I heard myself squeak.

“I’ll write my piece later. I’ve still got a week!”

 

‘Twas the night before deadline. My time had run low,

The screen of my iPad still blank as the snow.

My editor phoned, and I said, “I’ll get to it.

I just have to make myself sit down and do it!”

 

Then laying my fingers atop of the keys,

I wrote the first line with astonishing ease.

More rapid than eagles fine paragraphs came,

And soon I was typing THE END and my name.

 

I ran it through Spell-Check but easily saw

That each word was perfect, each phrase without flaw.

I smiled and hit “Send” with a confident tap,

Then settled myself for a long winter’s nap.

 

‘Tis the night after deadline. I’m drinking champagne

And toasting the genius who lives in my brain,

When what to my wondering eyes should arrive

But a text that says “redo tomorrow by 5.”

 

Merry Christmas to all,

And to all a good read!

One response to “‘Twas the Month Before Deadline

  1. I’m starting a online website directory and was wanting to know if I can submit your site? I’m trying to mature my directory slowly by hand so
    that it maintains high quality. I’ll make sure and put your blog in the appropriate category and I’ll also use, “Twas the Month Before Deadline Get Vinspired” as your anchor text.
    Make sure you let me know if this is acceptable with you by mailing me.
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

