Talking YA Fiction

 

 

I love good banter about books. Last week, as I was sipping iced coffee at an outdoor café in Columbia, Missouri, I overheard two young college students kick around the most influential books of their teen years. One brought up the Harry Potter series while the other countered with The Perks of Being a Wallflower. They continued for a good while, spouting off one great pick after the other; one even said: “A quiet summer and a good YA book can help you find yourself, even when you didn’t think you were looking.” It made me think of my own favorites and some of the classics I had read as a teen: The Catcher in the Rye, A Separate Peace, Go Ask Alice, and Speak. These books resonated with me for their authenticity of voice and the universality of the existential crisis.

 

These days, I still love a good crisis—on the page, that is. And there’s something about young love that’s timeless, ageless. I guess that’s why I keep going back to YA fiction (reading it and writing it)—for the intense, wide-eyed view of life, love, and just maybes. Those “just maybes” are at the core of my YA novel, Girl in the Middle. Main character Skye faces a huge crisis of her own when her older sister goes missing without a trace. Then there’s the added drama when Skye pushes bad boy Bryan, the last person to be seen with her sister, for answers. But Skye doesn’t believe all the rumors about him, and she ends up finding something she never quite expected. It’s that innocent view of love and hope in the midst of darkness that keeps Skye afloat, believing that just maybe happy endings really do exist. To find out more about Girl in the Middle and Vinspire’s other Young Adult novels, click here: http://www.vinspirepublishing.com/#!girl-in-the-middle/c6y6GirlintheMiddle 500x750 (2)

 

 

 

Coming Soon! Waking Under Water: The latest YA novel by Christine Bailey from Vinspire Publishing

 

Visit cibailey.com for the latest blogs, comments, and news about author events!

One response to “Talking YA Fiction

  1. Very nicely written. You make a strong case for YA Fiction– something I haven’t read in many years, yet now that you’ve mentioned “A Separate Peace,” and given such a compelling case for YA, I believe I’ll read your book!

Leave a Reply

