Imagination

BalbenasGravemed

People often ask where I get my ideas for the books I write and the various genres.  I tell them that much of it is imagination as well as personal experience or something that just pops into my head as perhaps being the means of a good book.  Many have called me a story teller and I think I like that title.  I have had 20 books published over my career.

The Summer & Shiner series (six books in the series) comes from my boy hood growing up in a small town at the base of the Flint Hills in Kansas.  We played hard but we also worked hard.  We had two boys’ clubs in that town: my club called the Mustangs and sort of a rival club called the Spiders.  We were rivals in a sense although nothing ever got out of hand.  It was great growing up back then: a simpler time much like Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn.

Most of the events in the series come from true life adventure.  I still yearn for those times even now.  And my book called Balbena’s Grave came from an idea as I was mowing our local cemetery.  I noticed this neglected stone dated way-back-when with a girl named Balbena on the inscription.  The poor girl had only lived to be sixteen.  No one ever placed flowers on her grave. It read: May Her Soul Rise to Heaven.

Around Memorial Day I would always pick a bouquet of peonies from the cemetery and lay them on the stone in her memory.  This planted the “seed” for the Young Adult paranormal of “Balbena’s Grave”.

 

Visit Nolan Carlson’s page

One response to “Imagination

  1. Nolan, what a beautiful story about Balbena. And how wonderful that you’ve been gifted to share your rich experiences with others through storytelling. Congratulations on your success!

Leave a Reply

